Click here for COVID-19 Updates and Resources

ECHN Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing

The Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing program was developed in 2001 out of a desire to celebrate and elevate the nursing profession.

The Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing is open and inclusive of all health care settings—hospitals, home health care, health centers, schools, health departments, long-term care, nursing schools, medical practices and more – all are warmly invited to participate. RNs and LPNs (full or part-time) who demonstrate excellence may be considered for recognition if they are involved in clinical practice, leadership, and/or education.

Nomination Criteria:

  1. How has nominee made a significant impact on patient care and/or the nursing profession.
  2. How has the nominee gone “beyond the call”.
  3. How has nominee demonstrate excellence above what is normally expected?
  4. How has nominee shown commitment to the community served, in a way that is significantly above the norm?
  5. How has nominee achieved a life-long legacy in a particular arena?

For ECHN, Manchester Memorial Hospital, Rockville General Hospital, the Visiting Nurse & Health Services of Connecticut and Woodlake at Tolland collaborate to collect nominations. An award is presented yearly.

2022 Nightingales

Bethann Baer, RN
Behavioral Health

Teri-Anne Berthiaume, RN
Visiting Nurse & Health Services of CT

Phommalinh Dion, RN
3 North

Barbara Kapustka, RN

2021 Nightingales

Amy Janeczko, RN
2 East

Christen Ellis, RN

Heather Sloan-Hattie, RN
Visiting Nurse & Health Services of CT

Jane Packer, RN
Emergency Department

Linda Legal Tyndale, RN
Woodlake at Tolland

ECHN DAISY Award for Nurses

D.A.I.S.Y is the acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. The DAISY Foundation was formed in November, 1999, by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died at age 33 of complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP). The nursing care Patrick received when hospitalized profoundly touched his family. The family felt they and Patrick experienced the best of Nursing. Not only did they witness expert clinical skill for a very complex medical situation, but it was the kindness and compassion that the staff showed to Patrick and his family every day. After Patrick’s death, the family created the DAISY Award For Extraordinary Nurses. Their goal was to “ensure that nurses know how deserving they are of our society’s profound respect for the education, training, brainpower, and skill they put into their work and especially for the caring with which they deliver their care”.

At ECHN, Manchester Memorial Hospital, Rockville General Hospital, Visiting Nurse and Health Services of Connecticut and Woodlake at Tolland collaborate to collect nominations to present an award to a deserving nurse quarterly. Nominations can be submitted by patients and families, staff and practitioners, and should be reflective of an excellent patient and family experience. If you know of a deserving nurse, click here to fill out our digital nomination form.

Clinical Ladder Program

The Registered Nurse (RN) Clinical Ladder Program is a three-step program designed to recognize clinical performance and leadership at the bedside. All nurses start as a Clinical Ladder I with responsibilities and qualifications specific to the area of nursing hired to. Advancement to Clinical Ladder II and III requires increasing involvement in unit and hospital activities that promote safety, quality and satisfaction for patients, visitors and employees. Nurses interested in advancement must meet the requirements set force in the application. Individuals attaining Clinical Ladder II and III designation are recognized formally each May and receive a monetary reward quarterly.

Certified Nurses Day

Each March Nursing Units throughout Manchester Memorial and Rockville General Hospitals celebrate Certified Nurses Day. The names of all nurses who hold professional certification is proudly displayed on all nursing units. Individuals with professional certification receive an annual monetary reward.

Employee Recognition Program

Employees are recognized as part of our Employee Recognition Program in the following ways:

  • Heart Cards for outstanding core values and/or work performance (submitted by coworkers, manager, patients or visitors)
  • Employee of the Month
  • Outstanding Health Care Provider
      Outstanding Leadership
      Outstanding Patient Experience
  • Award of Excellence (yearly) in the following categories:
      Outstanding Support Service
  • Years of Service Recognition beginning at 5 years (in five year increments)

Find a Provider