ECHN Welcomes Its Second Group of Third-Year Medical Students from the University of New England

On July 31, Eastern Connecticut Health Network (ECHN) was excited to welcome its second group of third-year medical students from the University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNECOM) for a year of clinical and academic training. Once again, these medical students will rotate through all of the medical disciplines at Manchester Memorial and Rockville General Hospitals, as well as ECHN physicians’ offices. The curriculum and clinical work will include internal and family medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, behavioral health, surgery, and community health.
“Last year’s program was extremely successful for our first group of students thanks to the training and leadership provided by the ECHN Medical Staff and the full support of the entire ECHN community,” said Patricio Bruno, DO, Director of Medical Education at ECHN, and Regional Campus Dean and Associate Professor. “I expect this year to be as successful.”
“We look forward to another stimulating year with the new group of students and continue to review the program to ensure that the students are challenged and receive first-class clinical training,” says Joel Reich, MD, Senior Vice President of Medical Affairs & Chief Medical Officer.
Since its founding in 1978, UNECOM has graduated more than 2,500 physician alumni. It is ranked 5th out of all 146 MD and DO granting medical schools in the United States for the number of graduates entering primary care training, and in the top 20 for geriatrics in U.S. News’ peer-assessment ranking.
“We are pleased to welcome these bright and energetic medical students to the ECHN family and are honored to play such an important role in their clinical education and training,” said Peter Karl, ECHN President & CEO.  
(Seated L-R) Elizabeth Otmaskin, Katie Clouthier, Julia Dombrowski, and Monica Selander; (Standing L-R) Nicolás Cal, Amy Riviere, Karolina Ogrodnik, Ryan Doyle, Brian Carroll, Matthew Guerinot, Cory Guenette, Timothy Sabol, Kylie Swearingen, Sheila Buan, and Ruth Welch.