The Auxiliary of Manchester Memorial Hospital Celebrates 90 Years of Giving

On the evening of September 26, 2013, the Auxiliary of Manchester Memorial Hospital (MMH) held its 90th Anniversary Celebration to honor the hundreds of women and men volunteers who have given so much of themselves to the community and hospital over the past 90 years. Over 160 volunteers and hospital employees attended the celebration that was held at the John A. DeQuattro Cancer Center.
Chairman of the ECHN Board of Trustees, Dr. Dennis G. O’Neill, entertained guests with a brief history of how and why the Manchester Hospital Auxiliary was formed in 1923 to supplement items for patient comfort that were not in the hospital’s budget.
Auxiliary president Roberta Irish presented the Auxiliary’s 2013 annual gift, a check for $175,302.50, to Dr. O’Neill. About two-thirds of the gift will be used to purchase equipment that was requested by 18 different departments within the hospital. The requests included 261 items in the following categories: equipment to improve patient safety and satisfaction; equipment to predict medical outcomes and speed recovery; items to improve employee safety, comfort and efficiency; and items designed to aide in community health education initiatives. Fifty thousand dollars of the gift will go to the Survivorship/Nurse Navigator Program; $5,000 will go to support Woman’s Health Initiatives; and $2,000 will go to support education programs. 
Annual gifts were received from the proceeds of the Auxiliary Gift Shops at Manchester Memorial Hospital and the boutique and café at the John Dequattro Cancer Center that totaled $102,000; The Penny Saver Thrift Shop contributed $60,000; and the Auxiliary’s vending program and other fundraising activities contributed $13,303. Since its inception, the Auxiliary has contributed over $4 million to the hospital.
The evening culminated with Mayor Leo Diana reading a Proclamation from the Town of Manchester congratulating the Auxiliary on 90 years of service to the community and hospital.
Special thanks go to the 90th Anniversary Planning Committee Co-Chairs Harriet Haslett and Rebecca Janenda, and Committee members Betty Benavides, Donna Cammeyer, Elaine Charizione, Harriett Duff, Roberta Irish, Nina Kruse, Joan Lavery, Dianne Lombardo, Marilyn Peracchio and Lynne Yampanis for a truly outstanding celebration of service and accomplishment.
Mrs. Kathy O'Neill; Dennis G. O'Neill, MD, chairman of the ECHN Board of Trustees; Dianne Lombardo, vice president of the MMH Auxiliary; Roberta Irish, president of the MMH Auxiliary.
Leo V. Diana, Esq, Mayor of the Town of Manchester reading proclamation.  Harriet Haslett, 90th Celebration Committee co-chair is left.